Sat. Dec 9th, 2023

Australia has announced their squad for the upcoming T20I series against India, with David Warner being called up to the squad. Warner had an outstanding performance in the ODI World Cup, scoring 535 runs at 48.63. This will be his last Test series as he has earmarked the SCG in early January for his retirement from the format.

The squad includes seven players who featured during the World Cup, plus Tanveer Sangha who was a traveling reserve throughout. Western Australia allrounder Aaron Hardie, who made his debut in South Africa earlier this year, has also been added to the T20I squad. Kane Richardson has also been called up as a replacement for Spencer Johnson who has a hamstring injury.

Despite starting just four days after the ODI World Cup final, the series acts as part of the build-up to next year’s T20 edition in West Indies and the USA. Australia currently have six more T20Is scheduled before that tournament with a pair of three-match series against West Indies and New Zealand in February. The squad will be led by Matthew Wade although Marsh is favorite for permanent captaincy role on a basis.

The series gets underway in Visakhapatnam on Thursday, with Australia’s T20I squad including Matthew Wade (capt), Travis Head, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Josh Inglis, Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis

By Editor

Leave a Reply